Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Black Watch NZGR

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Used AR15 with 20" Barrel/scope/silencer $2k budget

Used AR15 with 20" Barrel/scope/silencer $2k budget

Hey Guys,

I recently renewed my gun license and would like to hunt goats and rabbits, I also like the AR15 as I could buy a CMMG conversion kit OR a 22LR upper at a later date.

I just asked The Burtonator if his WW VEX-SS is still for sale as it could fit the bill.

disclaimer: Ive been doing a bit of reading but Im still new to AR15's.

so what Ive learnt thus far is that im looking for:

manufacturer: Winhdham Weaponry, Stag Arms, Colt or the like
    Barrel: 20" barrel / Match grade
    Twist: 1:8 twist - 1:9 twist
    rifle length gas system
    good trigger
    adjustable stock
    variable scope
    Silencer

I dont want to have to make any changes to this gun, just want a reliable keeper that wont give me any problems. good accuracy up to ?300 yards?

thanks in advance

S

Only way to get a good trigger is put it in yourself.

The Windham Weaponry AR that can be found in most stores (and you mentioned) will meet majority of your requirements, much more than most other stock AR's available in NZ will any way.

Ah I see, good to know thank you.

Quote Originally Posted by stev0 View Post
    adjustable stock
    Don't forget, that's E cat

Also check out gunsnz.com they've got some nice AR's.

thanks for that, I didn't know. Yup I'll be staying with A-Cat. Yeah lots to see on that sight. Cheers

And being A cat you can only have the 7 round magazines, no 20 or 30 rounders.....

I've got the Smith & Wesson M&P15 from them, great service, shoots straight.