Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

NZGR Black Watch


User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 96
Like Tree118Likes

Thread: Hardy Custom Rifle Review

  1. #16
    vin, maate.
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    473
    Doesn't Greg Duley build custom rifles? I saw his Superpig at the Sika show, look pretty awesome.

  2. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    553
    Well i gave hardy their 3rd deadline 2 weeks ago for today. Outcome: rifle still sitting in Palmerston North, without having being shot/zeroed, nor is the suppressor ready. Lucky for them the barrel is on as i was going to tell them to shove the whole thing up their arse. Seems like the whole thing has been a fuck up. Not happy with it at all. How can a simple barrel and zero take 3 months. I understand production hick ups etc, but when they say the "barrel is in stock, it just needs to be wrapped which will be two weeks, then we need to shoot it which will be another couple, so 4-6 weeks tops" you dont expect to to blow out to 12 weeks.

    I have been pretty supportive of Hardy over the years, while many have moved to DPT. No longer.

  3. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    New Plymouth
    Posts
    856
    Quote Originally Posted by mcche171 View Post
    Well i gave hardy their 3rd deadline 2 weeks ago for today. Outcome: rifle still sitting in Palmerston North, without having being shot/zeroed, nor is the suppressor ready. Lucky for them the barrel is on as i was going to tell them to shove the whole thing up their arse. Seems like the whole thing has been a fuck up. Not happy with it at all. How can a simple barrel and zero take 3 months. I understand production hick ups etc, but when they say the "barrel is in stock, it just needs to be wrapped which will be two weeks, then we need to shoot it which will be another couple, so 4-6 weeks tops" you dont expect to to blow out to 12 weeks.

    I have been pretty supportive of Hardy over the years, while many have moved to DPT. No longer.
    I have found in the past that the barrel wrapping seems to be where the blow out takes place, although the bigger that they get "Hardy " the longer the weight seems to be.

  4. #19
    Member Dorkus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Palmerston North
    Posts
    603
    Totally unacceptable... I won't be going there for anything. Ever.
    sometimes likes this.
    "holy sh*t, there's a deer"

  5. #20
    Lovin Facebook for hunters kiwijames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Hawkes Bay
    Posts
    5,639
    Custom gun build time calculator

    1.) Take any timeline from a gunsmith or whatever you call most kiwi assemblers.
    2.) Convert that timeframe into dog years.
    3.) Take the numric component of the converted dog years and then re apply the original timebase.
    4.) Tada! real build time

    Can also be applied to calculate real build cost
    gimp, Barefoot, mikee and 8 others like this.
    The Universe is a cruel, uncaring void. The key to being happy isn't a search for meaning. It's to just keep yourself busy with unimportant nonsense, and eventually, you'll be dead. -Mr Peanutbutter

  6. #21
    Member mikee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Nelson, New Zealand
    Posts
    5,739
    Quote Originally Posted by kiwijames View Post
    Custom gun build time calculator

    1.) Take any timeline from a gunsmith or whatever you call most kiwi assemblers.
    2.) Convert that timeframe into dog years.
    3.) Take the numric component of the converted dog years and then re apply the original timebase.
    4.) Tada! real build time

    Can also be applied to calculate real build cost
    There is another step you missed
    The mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation................................but I'm not one of them

  7. #22
    MSL
    MSL is offline
    Member MSL's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Waikato
    Posts
    2,235
    I had a rebarrel and load development done in 5 weeks, I thought that was pretty good.

  8. #23
    Member Rock river arms hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Deep South
    Posts
    752
    Quote Originally Posted by mcche171 View Post
    Well i gave hardy their 3rd deadline 2 weeks ago for today. Outcome: rifle still sitting in Palmerston North, without having being shot/zeroed, nor is the suppressor ready. Lucky for them the barrel is on as i was going to tell them to shove the whole thing up their arse. Seems like the whole thing has been a fuck up. Not happy with it at all. How can a simple barrel and zero take 3 months. I understand production hick ups etc, but when they say the "barrel is in stock, it just needs to be wrapped which will be two weeks, then we need to shoot it which will be another couple, so 4-6 weeks tops" you dont expect to to blow out to 12 weeks.

    I have been pretty supportive of Hardy over the years, while many have moved to DPT. No longer.
    -Tongue in cheek- I just sent my 300 project to Trueflite for a new barrel, T2 Brake fitting etc so I wonder if yours will be finished before I get mine by the last week of June?.

    That's bloody terrible! I haven't heard anything positive and I'd be laying a formal complaint. Sh!t that just sucks! Hope it gets resolved quickly!

  9. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    553
    I work in the motor trade (Toyota) and i know we put an order through for a Land Cruiser 200 at the same time as I ordered this. In the same period the order has been processed, vehicle made, shipped from Japan and is now with the customer.

    If we fucked a customer around as much as they have we would be throwing money, vouchers, accessories etc at them.

  10. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,749
    If you were promised a certain time frame and it takes 3 times as much, I can understand your anger.
    But looking from an American perspective , some rifles built in the USA can take more than a year, and that is with an easy availability of components ...!

  11. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,749
    Look at this:
    Custom Built Firearms

    Used to be 2 years of waiting time!

  12. #27
    Terminator Products Kiwi Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    4,270
    Quote Originally Posted by Friwi View Post
    Look at this:
    Custom Built Firearms

    Used to be 2 years of waiting time!

    In the USA, actions, barrels & stocks can take 4-6 + months if not off the shelf.

    Kirby is a one man band with a massive following, there are a few more people in the States than here & possibly a much higher percentage with firearms.

    If you are promised a time frame, it gets frustrating when its exceeded, sometimes it happens, just the nature of manufacturing & relying on others.

    When its not an isolated incident & they really don't care it gets exceeding frustrating.

    When they won't stand behind their products it gets well beyond frustrating

  13. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    381
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiwi Greg View Post
    In the USA, actions, barrels & stocks can take 4-6 + months if not off the shelf.

    Kirby is a one man band with a massive following, there are a few more people in the States than here & possibly a much higher percentage with firearms.

    If you are promised a time frame, it gets frustrating when its exceeded, sometimes it happens, just the nature of manufacturing & relying on others.

    When its not an isolated incident & they really don't care it gets exceeding frustrating.

    When they won't stand behind their products it gets well beyond frustrating
    When its not an isolated incident & they really don't care it gets exceeding frustrating.

    When they won't stand behind their products it gets well beyond frustrating

    The last two points probably sum up my hardy experience,Maybe nz is not his target market and he just plain don't care.
    Matt2308 likes this.

  14. #29
    HB.
    HB. is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    86
    I've been waiting about a month just for a reply to an email I sent Greg Duley about a build. Understand their busy people but a bit concerning when the waits that long for an email let alone a build.

  15. #30
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    553
    I think Hardys are now more interested in the larger volume, large profit generating overseas market rather than the NZ one.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Tikka hardy rifle
    By Taff in forum Firearms, Optics and Accessories
    Replies: 90
    Last Post: 03-10-2016, 10:51 PM
  2. AR15 Burris XTRII 1-5x Rifle Scope Review.
    By Simon in forum Firearms, Optics and Accessories
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14-01-2015, 02:36 PM
  3. Hardy Rifle Engineering
    By BRADS in forum Firearms, Optics and Accessories
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 25-05-2014, 08:48 PM
  4. 5mm remington custom rifle
    By Rock river arms hunter in forum Firearms, Optics and Accessories
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 13-05-2012, 05:36 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Welcome to NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums! We see you're new here, or arn't logged in. Create an account, and Login for full access including our FREE BUY and SELL section Register NOW!!