Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness Alpine

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Toby
  • 1 Post By PerazziSC3

Thread: Problems with peep - time to restring?

Problems with peep - time to restring?

Hi guys wasn't exactly sure where To post this - mods feel free to move it if another section is better.

My bow lately when I draw back has been a bit out of whack. My peep is for some reason crooked and for the life of me I any figure out why or what to do. I've been using bows for about 12 months but have little knowledge about maintenance and repairs of them.
    Does anyone know should I restring it or is there another way to fix the peep. I think its affecting my accuracy a little - the first time definitely but I tried to tweak it a little and its slightly better but still not 100%

Any ideas from any archers?

Cheers,
    Jack

I dont even have a peep sight on my compound bow. I manage to get a 10'' group with 5 arrows at 15m. Probably shit buts its a goats shoulder which is why I got it. Yeah Im no help to this.
    VIVA LA HOWA

How many shots have you put through it?
    It can take several hundred before the string has finished stretching and settled in properly which will cause the peep to twist also.
    Ideally you need to press the bow and add or remove half a twist from the string at a time to get better alignment...make sure you fire several shots to see that it has settled to where you want it.
    The standard strings on most bows are pretty poor and a quality custom string will reduce twisting after initial stretching a lot.
    You can twist and tighten your D loop down so that it aligns your peep better in the mean time as a temporary fix.