Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By timattalon

Thread: Zastava M85 Accuracy

Zastava M85 Accuracy

I got a Zastava M85 in .223 a while ago and finally got scope, rings, ammo and time to get it all together and sighted in. I used PPU 55 grain ammo and got a 1" 4 shot group at 100 yards (there was a 5th shot but I messed that one so lets not talk about that ) . I'm pretty dang happy with this as this is the first group that good that I have shot ever (I'm pretty new to shooting and have modest gear)

Just wondering if I can expect better out of it? should I bother investing in other brands of ammo and shooting more groups to see if there's another ammo it prefers, or should I just buy a case of ppu and get some practice in and go hunting? If you have a M85 in .223 what does yours shoot best and how tight is the group?

Well that sounds pretty good to me, most factory rifles will shoot around the 1" mark with factory ammo. You could try a few other brands to see if it is consistent with other brands and you may find an even better load. Best of all would be hand load as you can tailor the loads to your rifle. If all else fails you are good to go as it is. For hunting that is more than adequate and not to bad for targets as well.

Seeing as you are new I have a few suggestions.