Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: advise needed on trout fishing lake Taupo

advise needed on trout fishing lake Taupo

Good day,

As a few of you know I'm new to New Zealand just moved from Canada. I have some time off and after Christmas my wife the kids and I wish to do a overnight hike on MT Taranaki and stay in a hut 1 night. Any advise on this? Do i need to book the hut?

After the hike we were hoping to head up to lake Taupo and spend 2-3 days fishing and hanging out maybe some short hiking as well. I would like to rent a cabin if its affordable. We don't have a boat so would be interested in a good spot for shore casting. doesn't need to be on lake Taupo itself but in the surrounding area?

Also we would head back to Palmy via Napier is there anything thats a must see along this route ?

Any and all advise is much appreciated

Neil

There's no trout in Taupoyou need a seperate licence for Taupo. Go to the little fishing shop at the lake end of the Main Street, across from the large trout sculpture, he will sort you with what you need and good advice. Fishing from the shore unless fly fishing at the river mouth, spinning not permitted in these areas! Read your licence, is usually not productive. When are you there?
    Boom, cough,cough,cough

Quote Originally Posted by Maca49 View Post