Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree27Likes

Thread: Hows it going?

Hows it going?

Hi Guys and Girls

My name Shaun, Im 30 and live in Cambridge. I've got a wife and 3 daughters....
    I'm pretty new to this hunting thing, I grew up in town and lived a towny life. I always enjoyed watched hunting shows on tv and the past few years have really found and interest where i would buy magazines and read books on hunting. I've done the odd bit of possum and rabbit shooting 1 season of duck shooting and plenty of clay bird social afternoons in the past.

My father in-law was a keen hunter in his midlife but had really let himself go physically and stopped altogether. He was struck with Pancreatic Cancer nearly 3 years ago, with having my family go through these battles and know that you get a new lease on life once you're out the other side of a Cancer battle. I told him I wanted him to teach me and take me out.
    I went about getting my firearms licence and he had his 14 hour surgery, done his chemo and was given the all clear. Never cure'd but his cell counts where well bellow normal.
    With loosing 20+kg in his battle he was able to eat properly and be more active.
    We planned his first outing for Easter this year and hit Tongariro Forestry for the Roar. My 1st Roar, and my 1st time getting out into the bush for more than a day walk. We spent 3 nights out there and I loved it. Had an amazing adventure and although its no trophy i managed to shot my 1st stag a young 6 pointer, But well worth the trip and has put plenty of food on the table for the extended family as well.