Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast
Like Tree121Likes

Thread: Darwin is getting slow in his old age.

ebf
    Quote Originally Posted by big_foot View Post
    When stricter gun controls are introduced gun crime goes up, purely because what was ok yesterday is not ok today, this is despite the fact that gun related violence goes down. Im not good at explaining this shit (hence the first sentence in this post) but can you catch my drift?
    Ok Let's deal with this one, and then I need to spend some time drawing a picture to counter Beavis

@big_foot, yes, if you define "gun crime" purely as the infringement type offences that occur after a law change (being in possesion of an "E-cat" magazine etc), then I imagine you might well see a rise. And even more so if the law is drafted poorly. Also depends on how heavy handed the police are in enforcing those regulations. So I don't see how that tells us much at all... Let's be honest with each other, that is a bit of a "bullshit and lies" type argument that the pro-control guys get accused of... no ?

In stats, the one thing which is really easy to measure all over the world is DEATH. Very hard for the police to fudge the numbers because other sectors like doctors, coroners etc become involved. There is also not really a chance of people not reporting it like what happens with other types of crimes... And we don't look at the raw numbers, but rather at the numbers expressed in terms of population, because that gives us a way to measure one country to another.
    Viva la Howa ! R.I.P. Toby | Black rifles matter... | #illegitimate_ute