Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Like Tree113Likes

Thread: Semi Autos - Possible Interesting Development

Im new to all of this, can someone tell me who or what FCAF is?

Being cynical it does look like the police are trying to push a firearm register, if this comes to pass I would not be surprised if eventually everything becomes E cat. It would be nice if they could look at useful avenues of reducing gun crime and firearm incidents, there is plenty of scope to require more secure A cat storage, increase penalties for firearm offenses (ie possession is automatically considered intent etc), more rigorous license testing/training (maybe even similar to the car license process).

Then there is the question that needs answering, which is where do the criminal organizations actually get their weapons from. It would also be interesting to see why they want to target MSSAs, just from watching the news it seems they are very rarely if ever used in any of the firearm incidents, most seem to be old shotguns and .22s
    Tommy likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by Chilli_Dog View Post
    ...It would also be interesting to see why they want to target MSSAs...
    Because politicians and bureaucrats watch hollywood movies and think they look scary?

R93
    I do not think they are going for a register in total.
    They do want to know where all the semis are.

I also think it is a round about way to ensure every firearm is stored in at least an E cat suitable safe. They don't stop theft in every scenario but they may reduce it.