Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree21Likes

Thread: Anyone used steal shot on Rabbits?

Anyone used steal shot on Rabbits?

I'm heading over to Central Otago tomorrow to bowl over a few bunnies, Iv'e got 100+ rounds of steal shot left over from duck shooting so I thought I would take them with me to shoot the close ones. I have a pattern master so the choke will be tight, just wondering if the steal will have the knock down power. I am taking the .22 as well for the longer rangers. What's your thoughts?
    When hunting think safety first

it works but lead works better !
    veitnamcam, tetawa and Marty Henry like this.

Hitting them works best of all, just had to say it.
    22 may get you reliably out to 125 with luck.

Do the rabbits a big favour and get some lead shot. Rabbits do actually take a bit of killing, the first one you nail with steel and crawls away into the bushes screaming and clawing itself along will have you thinking .... bugger should have got some lead.

As with most animals you need to break bones to put them down.

BS..... I ve killed bunnies cleanly at measured 40 yards with steel 4s on enough occasions to know its not a fluke. really surprised me how well to be honest . just be plurry carefull around rocks as it will bounce.
    mikee, matto1234 and 7mm Rem Mag like this.