Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree44Likes

Thread: Handguns for Self Defense in the USA.

Handguns for Self Defense in the USA.

Glock Model 22 .40 S&W and a Bianchi Duty Belt

Glock Model 23 .40 S&W

I've been a cop now for ten years and carried a gun daily since I was 18 due to my employment with Uncle Sam before the badge. Every morning I've put on my gun wih my pants and I can say this. Self Defense with a handgun or a long gun doesn't matter. It is the mindset of the person carrying. The gun doesn't provide protection but it sure gives the user a better tool for winning.

Anyways. The key to carrying is first mindset. You have to be aware of three factors.

1. Ever situation now has a gun in play. Yours.
    2. Sometimes it is better to keep it concealed and not draw.
    3. If you are drawing from your holster, you better be in fear.of great bodily harm and death. Because drawing it in anger is deadly force.

You have to be aware.of your surroundings. Know who, what, where, and when. Stay vigilant and keep your head on a swivel. Always have the radar in your head scanning. Most attacks are telegraphed. Either by the subject themselves.or the situation.

If you're in a empty parking lot at night and someone is walking.clear across the parking lot on an intercept path towards you. That a telegraphed move. That doesn't mean you draw there and then, but you have yourself ready in case you must.

This brings us to tools. A gun is a tool, no different than flashlight or a pocket knife. A good combination is to carry all three.

S&W Model 342 .38 Special

CZ P-07 Duty .40 S&W