Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: 6.5 creed 147 eldm with imr4895

6.5 creed 147 eldm with imr4895

Hi there

I’m after a little info on this powder and projectile
    Is anyone using this combo and have a few cues on how this powder acts and what it likes
    I have a mate loading asking me questions but I have no experience with the cal or powder

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Creedmoor really needs AR2209 or similarly slow burning stuff. Imr4895 is too fast to get decent speeds with 147's.
    Bill999 likes this.
    Resident 6.5 Grendel aficionado.

I would say IMR4895 is way too fast for 147 grn pills try and find Hodgdon superprofrmance or 2209

Sent from my CPH2145 using Tapatalk

Have a look at the data here:

https://www.hodgdonreloading.com/rel...c=true&type=54

IMR is a Hodgdon brand - there's load data here for the whole range. When you select 6.5 Creedmoor with the 147 projectile the range of powders suggested fits with the suggestions already made here - does not include IMR4895. In the Creedmoor the 4895 would work well with 85 to 100 grain projectiles as it is similar (not the same) to AR2206H

Other options for the 147 would include Re16, Re17, AR2213, W760(H414), Win. Staball, Viht 550, 555 and even 560 just to name a few.
    Bill999 likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by Pommy View Post
    Creedmoor really needs AR2209 or similarly slow burning stuff. Imr4895 is too fast to get decent speeds with 147's.
    Great! I have a bottle of that on hand he can switch to if need be

Quote Originally Posted by Steelisreal View Post
    Have a look at the data here: