Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By veitnamcam

Thread: Calculating velocity

Calculating velocity

Hello, I'm new to reloading, but I have worked up a new load for my 6.5x55 using 140gr sst's. Groups are under 22mm consistently.

Is there any way to calculate the velocity from knowing 2 different points of impact at 2 different ranges. I think it is easy if I had my rifle zero at 100 but I didn't think to do that at the time. So the data I have is at 100y my impact was 4 inches above point of aim, and at 165y it was 5.5 inches above. Rifle is ruger with 22inch barrel bullet is hornady sst bc .520.

I have been banging numbers into a ballistics calculator for ages trying to get the points of impact to line up and the closest I can get is a velocity of 2700fps sighted in at 291y gives me a 100y point of impact at 4.45 inches above and 165y point of impact at 5.46 which is pretty close. Is there an app or programe you can enter 2 points of impact without knowing your zero the one I have been using our need your zero range.

Thanks if any one could check this and let me know if I'm on the correct track would be much appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by rusl View Post
    Hello, I'm new to reloading, but I have worked up a new load for my 6.5x55 using 140gr sst's. Groups are under 22mm consistently.