Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Devices to measure barometric pressure

Devices to measure barometric pressure

I am relatively new to long range ballistics. Of late I have been playing around with my ballistics calculator and the output data. I am noting that barometric pressure is such a large variable on downrange ballistic performance.

I was wondering what devices people are using to accurately measure this. I have done my homework and not particularly interested in the cost of a kestrel.
    Are there device options out there which measure barometric pressure accurately enough?

- Interested in devices such as watches garmin and suunto. But I am aware that these do not measure station pressure accurately for your given location.
    - Also interested in other such devices such as anemometers which are multifunction but don't wear a huge price tag. I am aware you get what you pay for.

Cheers in advance.

I have used a Barometer allot for weather in the back country and has always been a must for me on my watches.
    for 10 years I used Casio Gluff master which showed graph tends and now I have switched to a Garmin Fenix 5X.

Both can give you a reading in your current position and also relative to your altitude so no guess work needed.

Higher altitude the less pressure etc..

I have a sunnto watch that measures it but honesty havnt found it to be a big issue long as your in the ball park
    Konus binoculars " The power to imagine"