Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Cordite

Thread: Do powders change over time.

Do powders change over time.

I ask this as what I used to load is now markedly less in the the latest reloading data tables.
    I used to use W760 in 30.06 pretty much to duplicate their factory load.
    They still market it as W760 I had no problems with the weight charge I used.
    Am I still good to use what worked previously.

I'm no expert and I'm sure some good folk on here will be along soon to help you out but I know when I changed batches of power there was a huge difference and I had to drop 2 grains of powder to get the same result as my previous load.
    When hunting think safety first

Loading tables have become more conservative, earlier versions of the adi book just gave bullet weight now a range of projectiles is listed with slightly different weights for each. I understand that monolithic bullets have different distortion and friction coefficents under acceleration so can understand separate data for them.
    As to powder changes, they do occur as mnf is a batch process using cotton as a primary ingredient and with any natural material slight variations can occur. Processing and testing will keep these within tolerances set by the manufacturer but changing from one at the bottom of the burning rate spec to one at the top might show a variation.
    Double base powders show less batch to batch variation compared to single base ones as the nitroglycerine added can be varied to fine tune the results along with the coating applied.