Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree25Likes

Thread: Full length resizing 7mm Rem Mag problem

Full length resizing 7mm Rem Mag problem

I'm relatively new to reloading, only been doing it about 1 year. I have a Lee 4 die set and Hornady press. When trying to full length resize Hornady brass the case comes out with quite a sharp edge as shown in pictures rather then a rolled edge as comes factory. Has has anyone else experienced this or am I doing something wrong? Any suggestions to resolve this? Neck sizing is sweet, no issues at all.

NickName:  received_529013635010963.jpeg
Views: 557
Size:  35.9 KB
    Name:  received_3612130062344739.jpeg
Views: 580
Size:  22.2 KB

Normal. When the brass is formed at the factory, that body-shoulder junction is going to be a little rounded. When you fire it, it'll pop out and form to the inside of the chamber (mostly). This is a perfectly good thing. Your sizing die may even sharpen the bend up even further when you run it through. Again, this isn't a bad thing.

If it chambers, you're good to go. Next, read up on shoulder bumping and try and set up the die to only bump 0.002".
    Woody and Moa Hunter like this.
    Resident 6.5 Grendel aficionado.

Can you catch the sharp edge with your fingernail? If so id hazard a guess that your die has some form of manufacturing defect. Pull it apart give it a clean, send a scribe or anything pointy up the die body to see if theres a sharp edge it can catch on.
    Moa Hunter likes this.

Is that a very minute spilt or ripple right on the shoulder Junction? If it isn't smooth all the way around there might be a problem.