Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree16Likes
  • 8 Post By R93
  • 2 Post By Boaraxa
  • 1 Post By chainsaw
  • 1 Post By johnd
  • 1 Post By r87mm
  • 2 Post By northdude
  • 1 Post By Micky Duck

Thread: General approach to powder selection for a new load

Question General approach to powder selection for a new load

Hi All,
    I've been dabbling with reloading for about 9 months and have a general question as to how people choose what powder to use or when/why to change if the results aren't what they are after.

My example is I reloaded for my Tikka 270 and started with AR2213SC... I had issues getting groups I liked so I changed to a faster powder, AR2209 and ended up with something pretty accurate although a little slower then I'd like.

What's everyone's general approach? start with slower or faster powders? at what point would you decide it's not good and try a different powder?

Too many bloody variables with this reloading game .

Mark

R93
    To be honest there generally is a lot of info on load development on the net. Especially for something as commom as the .270
    I only shoot a few centerfire rifles and apart from one of them I found the best powders for those calibers here on the forum.

I also used to chase speed as I thought that was important for terminal ballistics. I slowly grew up and worked out the fastest bullet is usless if it doesnt go where intended
    I now load for accuracy and couldnt give a toss about a hundred feet per second here or there. My barrels, wallet and I are much happier as a result.
    john m, steven, shooternz and 5 others like this.
    Do what ya want! Ya will anyway.