Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree48Likes

Thread: Is this hot for a .270? Newbie reloading advice.

Is this hot for a .270? Newbie reloading advice.

Hi guys,

Im new to reloading and have recently developed a load for my .270win under the guidance of my brother. Just wanting your opinions because after having a look on the web I havent found any one else using as high a charge as me in this powder (wondering if my brother is as experienced as he makes out?.

Rifle: Sako A7 24inch barrel
    Powder type: AR2209
    Powder weight: 57.5 grains
    Projectile: 130 grain hornady SST
    MV: 3080 fps
    Primer: Remington
    Brass: Federal

We started the load ladder at 50 grains and worked up in 0.5 grain increments checking for pressure signs (there were non). Ended up finding a sweet spot in accuracy at 57.5gr and was happy with MV. What do you guys thing, max recommended load is 54-55.3 (depending on which book) so we are way over but no pressure signs at all.

Cheers,
    Dawg

It’s certainly a warm load, generally you’d expect around 3050 from a 130gn pill, depends how accurate the chrony is? If you worked the load up in cold temps just be a little mindful of shooting it in hot summer temps, it may need to be backed off a bit? Some factory rifles have slightly larger chambers than test rifles used to come up with load data so you need to go “over book” to achieve the same speed.
    Dawg, takbok and rewa like this.
    Shut up, get out & start pushing!