Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: load issue, or loader.

load issue, or loader.

I have just tested 3 reloads for my .300wsm from a tried and true recipe, i once had 200 of these loads and now have 20 left so i started reloading them to the exact same recipe, i used to get 1\2inch group but now looking at 3 inch with my loads.
    The rounds are tight chambering and very tight ejecting and have these marks on the face of them.

Any one have any ideas. The tightness would be shell length wouldn't it if the loaded round is the same length as the old reloads that dont give issues.

Its my first attempt at reloading so not sure about things yet.

They are excessive pressure signs but i will let someone more experienced solve your problems

Wow, lots of pressure there.
    I would say since you are feeling some tension on closing the bolt that they are not re-sized enough. Are you Full Length sizing them? If this is so, maybe try winding that die down a smidge more to push the shoulder back a bit.

Im not confident on this but this is my take on what is happening with the case signs.
    With the case being too long for the chamber (i.e. not full length sized enough) it has increased the pressure in the case and given you some signs of that.
    Rule 5: Check your firing zone

Is your overall length the same.
    Seating bullets out longer they could be jaming in the rifleing (hence tight to close bolt)an causing a pressure spike if load was worked up with a jump.
    Same powder, same primer?
    Scales calibrated?

Check fired case you haven't rereloaded for tight chambering.