Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree45Likes

Thread: Who can figure this one out

Who can figure this one out

Hi,

Ive currently been developing a new load for my tikka t3 lite 7mm rem mag, I’m using hornady shells, win primers, ARI2217 powder and shooting a 140g nosler bt.

I’m new to reloading and I’m getting mixed results with a round that is consistent at times but not at other times, story as follows:

Okay so did a ladder test and found that i was getting good groupings (half an inch at 100yards) with 68grains of powder, tested this round out to 600yards and was getting awesome results. Stoaked.

Decided it was time to get my first kill with my very first reload, found a hind at 100 yards went for a head shot and missed this was with a perfect rest. Thought to myself it could have been me, carried on and saw another hind at the same distance and again head shot and a miss. I then knew something was up but gave it the benefit of the doubt and an hour later there was a fallow doe at 230yards so i decided to go for the chest, aimed at the heart and she dropped on the spot . That confirmed what i realised because i had hit her in the spine.

Ive soon come to realise that missing becomes a lot more personal when its your own round!

So i went to the range this morning and as i thought my first shot was 3inchs high and a inch to the left, my next 3 shots were only a inch high and inch to the left grouping well again. I zeroed in again got a good group. I then shot out to 200 and got a good group.
    At this point the thoughts running through my mind are: