Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Where to Small Game Hunt with an Air Rifle (in North Canterbury)

Where to Small Game Hunt with an Air Rifle (in North Canterbury)

Hi all! I'm new to the scene, and was looking at getting into some light, recreational small game shooting (from having zero hunting or shooting knowledge at all). A few places have suggested an air rifle is a good place to start for target and small game, and means I won't need to get a FAL. Aside from an air rifle I'd also consider learning to use a now, but that's about my limit considering I'm as green as them come.

I've since contacted DOC about getting a small game licence to start my journey. Apparently you can't hunt on public conservation land with an air rifle. So my question is - where can you hunt with one? Only private land? In which case I'd know no one.

river bed wouldnt be bad place to start......a friendly farmer would be best of all.

Forestry companies often issue hunting permits for their managed forests.

Ok cool, I'll start to look some up. Thank you

With an Air rifle you will have different options . Small game i.e pests are not limited to Rabbits etc , think rats all Farmers etc are plagued by them and can be a foot in the door for access to bigger things like rabbits etc . Also with an Air rifle it opens up another option of Golf Courses etc , green keepers hate those golf green digging bast4rds .Life style blocks are another option too.
    Moa Hunter and Micky Duck like this.