Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Black Watch DPT


User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 51
Like Tree41Likes

Thread: Complaint from neigbour

  1. #1
    Member Beetroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Morrinsville
    Posts
    1,797

    Complaint from neigbour

    So today I discovered that a neighbour of a place I shoot at tried to make a complaint to the police to get my gun licence removed.
    She didn't know my last name though, and the land owner wouldn't give it.

    The back story is, I was shooting at a few plovers in what I deemed was a very safe direction, I was probably 100m from the farms bored, and the neighbours house was 100m further again. It's in an area where some people shoot other times of the year, and I would not expect there to be no shooting if I lived there. When I fired the shots there was no way they would've entered the neighbours property.

    Now she is more or less hated by everyone in the surrounding area, and when she made the complaint said I was shooting ducks (they were plovers), and that everyone surrounding the properties had also complained to her. I checked with these people and they both said they have never complained, or even seen me shooting. So she's just making up shit.

    I know I could easily get half a dozen people to vouch for me being a safe person, and another half dozen that live sown the road and say she's a nut job.

    What should I do?
    Should I contact the Arm's officer myself and let him know I am open to discuss the complaint?
    Or am I better off to wait and see if I hear anything?

    I've never had a conviction for anything, and never a complaint before, but I know sometimes by trying to own up and do the right thing, you can get shafted yourself.

    Id like to add it is not even close to the first time I've been shooting there, it was with a 17hmr so was no louder than shotguns that get used everywhere during duck shooting
    Last edited by Beetroot; 23-02-2014 at 10:45 PM. Reason: more to add

  2. #2
    Fulla
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cni
    Posts
    1,474
    I wouldn't worry until or if it actually becomes a problem.

  3. #3
    Member Beetroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Morrinsville
    Posts
    1,797
    Supposedly the Arms Officer was checking her husband to renew his, so she then complained about this event that happened probably a month ago.
    I'll add it's extremely rural being 30kms from a decent town, there is a few lifestyle blocks, but it's still mainly farm land.

    Thanks Bully, just wanted to get other opinions as I don't want to be in the shit, and really really don't want to lose my firearms licence.

  4. #4
    Fulla
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cni
    Posts
    1,474
    that's just my way of thinking, it doesn't mean its right. I would plead dumb, if it came up id say, oh its the first iv heard about it. or, oh yeah, I did hear something but forgot all about it. (after all it was a month ago). no point in going through it if you don't have to, its like a police road side w.o.f check. you think your car is fine, but if they really look hard enough or pick holes, they could probably get you on something minor.

  5. #5
    R93
    R93 is offline
    Member R93's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Westland NZ
    Posts
    15,342

    Complaint from neigbour

    Don't say anything unless approached by the authorities.

    I almost had major problems caused by a house/land owner lying to the police. When the land owner recanted their story thus admitted lying, I still received a stern letter over something I did not do.
    Some people are just scum and their lies can ruin lives.
    You did nothing wrong. Don't give the pricks the chance to fabricate that you did.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    Do what ya want! Ya will anyway.

  6. #6
    Member Beetroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Morrinsville
    Posts
    1,797
    Cheers. I have the help that a lot of people could vouch they are a liar, but I won't bring it up unless the police approach me.

    It is unbelievable what the person is like, and you wonder how they get their kicks from making others lives miserably.

  7. #7
    unit moonhunt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    warkworth
    Posts
    1,463
    Had the same happen to me... I got a phone call from the cops, he tore me a new asshole and threatened my licence, all from some woman crying and hearsay

    Nothing came of it, but to top that off another neighbour had a crack too, all false once again

    This ladys pig had been chewed up by a dog, she wanted blood and offered me up for the sacrifice, 5 years later I found out the truth to it all, her neighbour's dog had chewed it up, he also shot the other 2 pigs and dumped them, got sick off them in his property, his girlfriend got chased by one of the new pigs just the other day, she broke her foot jumping a gate to get away from it - KAMA
    Rule 4: Identify your target beyond all doubt
    OPCz

  8. #8
    GSP Mad Munsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    5,236
    Cops will take the easy route , and that be you ! Because you are compliant and she's a complete bitch to deal with . So avoid it like the others have said .
    Rule 7: Avoid alcohol and drugs when handling firearms

  9. #9
    Member Beavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The Cape
    Posts
    4,099
    Don't do anything
    P38 likes this.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Tasman
    Posts
    977
    Some people are serial complainers and shit stirrers, they tend to be well known within communities.

    What an unnecessary stressor for you

  11. #11
    If it goes Boom; I'm there faregame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Whangarei
    Posts
    1,035
    had something similar twice

    Never met the woman either - saw her in the distance (wondered who was looking around my car)

    Got to 50 metres of her walking about - could hear her screaming about something and saying she would call the police - she buggered off when I said don't worry I call them for you!

    End result was I was given access to some 3000 arces by the neighbours (she was well known)

    Funny thing was she was telling them we where on her driveway - then I said no we got down by the dead cow, neighbour said dead cow?! yeah - oh thats hers and she still hasn't removed it from SOMEONE ELSES property..... (it was about ready to walk again from the smell)

    Had to laugh one of the neighbours brought a hammer with them! Did ask why and umm .... pretty dumb

  12. #12
    If it goes Boom; I'm there faregame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Whangarei
    Posts
    1,035
    Actually one thing that can help is a outdoor camera - proves where and what direction you shot
    That is if you want to keep going back there (issue may well happen again)

  13. #13
    unit moonhunt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    warkworth
    Posts
    1,463
    Yes I had my GPS with me another time this lady had a crack at me, said I was on her place, I said no and I can prove it also as I carry a GPS, well that shut her up

    The police will work out them out too soon enough
    Hunt4life and Dynastar27 like this.
    Rule 4: Identify your target beyond all doubt
    OPCz

  14. #14
    ebf
    ebf is offline
    The gnome returns ! ebf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Hutt Valley
    Posts
    5,465
    Beetroot, what were you shooting with ? Shotgun, 22 or centrefire ?
    Viva la Howa ! R.I.P. Toby
    Black rifles matter...

  15. #15
    Member Beetroot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Morrinsville
    Posts
    1,797
    It was a 17hmr, but she knows I shoot with it, I've shot my 22 there lots and the 17hmr a fair bit recently, been shooting there for 4 years. So it's not like it was out of the blue. Stupid that she waited until the arms officer came around a month later too do anything. She's a major shit stirrer and talks a lot of rubbish, but I thought I better be prepared in case it comes up. I've been shooting for about 10 years now, and deem myself extremely responsible and would never do anything that would endanger anyone, any stock or any property.

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Welcome to NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums! We see you're new here, or arn't logged in. Create an account, and Login for full access including our FREE BUY and SELL section Register NOW!!