Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree4Likes
  • 4 Post By Ryan_Songhurst

Thread: Fiordland Wapiti and Red Hunting Advice October-November

Fiordland Wapiti and Red Hunting Advice October-November

Hello, I am a young deer stalker based in the Hamilton, I've been hunting up here for the last 6 years and my father has finally received his firearms licence and we are now in the process of planning a trip into Fiordland hunting at the end of October/ start of November.

While we have done a lot of traveling around the south island this will be our first hunting trip there. We are flying into Queenstown and then planning to head into some of the Wapiti blocks for the first 4 nights, I was originally planning on heading into the North west arm by boat but it appears another party has booked a tip in there for part of the same period. Next idea is the South West Arm- Doon and wapiti river blocks does anyone have any information on this area or advice otherwise?
    (I understand the ongoing management on the Wapiti herd and we would only be shooting cull animals if anything!).

Also in the following days we are planning on doing some hunting around Monowai- Borland road area and/or or the Mavora lakes area, any information on these areas would be greatly appreciated!

Happy to give hunting or fishing advice up this way.
    Feel free to PM.

Cheers!
    Last edited by Tasman; 27-08-2020 at 09:23 AM.