Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree70Likes

Thread: First ever successful hunt

First ever successful hunt

The past couple of weekends have been huge for me. I've been shooting targets for a couple of years now but had not yet hunted game. Last year I went out for a duck shoot out on the Waikato river and attempted to track a pig with a friend of mine, both un-successful, but a good introduction.

This year the action unfolded quickly. Last weekend was my first weekend down on the river for the season, and shortly after landing on an island where we intended to shoot ducks from on our second evening, I spotted a pig just 30m from our dinghy. It started to run. With some quick thinking my mate jumped out and nailed the pig with a single no.3 round to the back of the head at just over 50m, and narrowly grazed a second pig with his other barrel that jumped out of the bushes. We couldn't find the second one after tramping the island for a couple of hours in the dark.

After last weekends efforts and my mates first pig of his own on the river after 30 odd years of visits, we were ready to get serious this weekend.

We got to the cabin in the dark on Friday night. We could hear the squeals and roars of the pigs on the other island as the king tide rolled in. We knew we would be in for a good hunt in the morning.