Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree38Likes

Thread: How can I shoot more deer, and what's your hit rate?

How can I shoot more deer, and what's your hit rate?

I've been hunting for a couple of years now and shot a couple of deer early on, a couple dozen goats and a couple of pigs. I've been deer hunting about ten times and come close to dropping a few more (spooked etc). I'm pretty good at finding DOC areas with animals and do a lot of leg and wheel work to get there. I'm pretty motivated but I feel like I've hit a wall so now I'm curious to know if I just got lucky and it's usually this hard, or if there are some things holding me back. I'm keen to hear from pros and rookies about your hit rates. I talked to a guy at Hunting & Fishing who said he'd shot 150 deer in 20 years (public+private), average one deer about every two months so probably every second or third time he goes hunting (assuming the numbers aren't bogus).

So I want to get a feel for roughly...
    -How many years and how many times have you hunted?
    -How many days hunting per deer when you were getting started and how many now? I've spent close to 20 days for 2 deer, so 10 days per deer on average.
    -What changes in your hunting bagged you the most deer? Trying new places, sticking to good places, hunting slower/faster, better bush gear, jumping out of trees...

Keen to hear from everyone!
    Thanks to the Playstation we have the outdoors to ourselves!