Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By WillB

Thread: Looking for info on Tararua Forest Park

Looking for info on Tararua Forest Park

Hey All,

I am heading to Wellington in a few weeks and will be squeezing in a few days in the Tararua forest park. I haven't been before, and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on good areas/entry points or even which general areas id be better off spending my time.
    the DOC website wasn't much help this time unfortunately.
    I'm pretty new to all this so anything help/info is appreciated.

Cheers guys

There are a number of entry points. Hunting spot x book be a gd start

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
    Hamish
    027 5422 985
    www.hgd.co.nz

i would head up to shannon and go into the dam and take the rd to the end to number 1 reservoir and take the track and follow the mangahao river ,you would need to get to at least to the Harris creek and maybe camp around there ,or just camp at the rd end and day hunt some of the creeks in the area

Also look up smiths creek. Check out rimutakas too

Sent from my ELE-L09 using Tapatalk

HOO
    Pretty much any road end that goes into the tararuas. Stalk up the creeks or walk a bit further and get up the tops. Depends what you’re into

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hey if you are new to the outdoors in general as well as the Tararuas in particular do bear in mind that the Tararuas can be unforgiving at any time of year - plan for safety and watch the weather. Welcome to our corner of paradise!
    Bagheera likes this.