Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Delta

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree22Likes

Thread: Upper Caples Block July

Upper Caples Block July

Hi All,

Im pretty new to fallow hunting and I am absolutely over the moon I have got the Upper Caples block from July 1 to July 5. I'm just wondering if anyone has experience in that block and the best way to approach it? High bush, low bush, sit on clearings, a mixture of all, sunny side, shady side, etc

Both me and my mate will be having our 30th birthdays up there so we decided to fly in to Kay Creek hut using Glenorchy Helicopters. It seems like only one company has the rights to land at Upper Caples Hut which is a bit of crock of shit because they are very expensive due to having to fly from Queenstown Airport. Anyway, any advice, tips or old yarns would be appreciated!
    Uplandstalker likes this.

Take a pocket full of smallish fencing Staples with you for the bunks,(beech poles and Hessian sacks. Last time I was in there they weren't in very good nick. Was a while ago now tho, there was an axe there too to knock them in with.
    Boaraxa likes this.
    Ya can't park there mate.

It will be a VERY COLD PLACE,where the sun will shine, so will the ghosting fallow deer.Enjoy yr trip.

Gkp
    G'day Grant. Its not too far to walk if you are worried about cost of flying. You could always fly in and walk out to cut the cost in half.
    You don't need to wake up early to hunt fallow, just aim for inversion layer were there is no frost. Probably between 1200 - 1600 meters mid winter. The bucks may well be on the cold side of the valley and hinds on sunny slips.