Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree40Likes
  • 24 Post By Larrygoat
  • 6 Post By veitnamcam
  • 4 Post By Larrygoat
  • 1 Post By northdude
  • 1 Post By Larrygoat
  • 2 Post By Marty Henry
  • 1 Post By caberslash
  • 1 Post By Larrygoat

Thread: 1000m on a "budget"

1000m on a "budget"

Hi all

I'm sure 1000m with been done more times than I can count with less than i ended up with, but im new to the longer range malarkey so I decided to go into it naive to experience more of what is in the sport, and how little you can get away with.

Here's what I ended up with

A tikka t3 30-06 of all things. However obsolete a 30-06 apparently is in 2020 it seemed to me that it shoots a .30 cal pill a little faster than a .308, ok by me. Traded a .303 and an old lever action .44mag, for it, so it cost me around $1200 incl a bipod and all the brass ever fired in the rifle, approximately 140 bits of the finest federal.

20MOA rail, I may have gotten away without it, but 40moa up is on the limit of many scopes. $120.

Warne rings, $140, i liked how they have a decent insert that bumps hard against the peaks of the rail.

T2 muzzle brake, makes a .30cal shoot able for a softy like me $300 plus $75 fitting from a fella down the road. To be fair the muzzle brake cost me a set of electronic earmuffs, I wear muffs and plugs when I shoot a brake now, from shot #2 onwards anyhow.

Rangefinder, leupold 1300??? I think, couldn't get it to range 1000m, do I parked my wagon in the middle and ranged each side of it. $500.

Scope, second hand strike eagle, 4-24x50. Im not sure where they sit on the value for $ scale but im satisfied. $750.

Strelok $21