Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Black Watch Alpine


User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: CDS turret info

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    2,351

    CDS turret info

    Hi,
    I have the following question:
    For a leupold scope like a VXIII with a CDS turret( 1" tube,3.5x10x40 for exemple), once the scope is zeroed, does the turret can do more than one full revolution upward or not? Does it has a zero stop? (All that assuming that there are still enough clicks left over of course). Thanks.
    Friwi.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Marlborough
    Posts
    382
    are you using a cds turret or the factory turret that comes with a cds scope? If it's being used from factory then its a "resetable" turret that doesn't have a zero stop. The custom turrets that you get made have a zero stop and are from memory only one full rotation of the turret - if that makes sense? Kiwigreg is pretty clued up on the cds vx3 scopes.

  3. #3
    Terminator Products Kiwi Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    5,492
    With the MOA turret that comes with it, it will have the full range of adjustment, no zero stop.

    I count the moa to the top or bottom from zero & note it on a sticker in the front alumina cap as a reference if I get "lost"

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dannevirke, southern Ruahines
    Posts
    5,072
    I sent a question to Loupold never got a reply from the buggers,KG if I send them my old cap with all my load data they send it back to me in Mils or MOA which ever I choose? And how much to retain my original cap? I would be interested in having my dail in mils so I can range and turn to range ie 300m and turn dail to 3 and so on you Know what im babbling about.

    Cheers

    Jase

  5. #5
    Ejected
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    HBC, NORTH of Auckland
    Posts
    5,250
    I actually just started doing the rangi mod on my turrets last night. Best of all its free! You know what you need to dial, just put some alloy tape on your dial and mark it out. Even better if you change load ever, just change the tape?

    Name:  turret.jpg
Views: 531
Size:  107.3 KB
    7mmsaum, Barefoot and Toby like this.

  6. #6
    Member Tahr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    NI
    Posts
    5,893
    I kept the MOA and put spots of white nail varnish (not mine) on the top by the lip at the 50 yard increments. They can chip off a bit. Maybe a colored perm marker might work better.

    Just seen yours niblet. Thatís a good idea.

  7. #7
    Ejected
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    HBC, NORTH of Auckland
    Posts
    5,250
    It will be marked with red for ranges past one full turn, so 600 meters plus, to avoid confusion and then will go through marking probably 20/25m increments depending on how conflicting they are, points where two ranges meet will probably been marked half and half colour. Lots of tape so can do a bit of experimenting.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dannevirke, southern Ruahines
    Posts
    5,072
    Quote Originally Posted by Nibblet View Post
    It will be marked with red for ranges past one full turn, so 600 meters plus, to avoid confusion and then will go through marking probably 20/25m increments depending on how conflicting they are, points where two ranges meet will probably been marked half and half colour. Lots of tape so can do a bit of experimenting.
    It's free to change turrets so long as you bought one new .and vx 3 cds turrets arnt wide enough to stick tape on even though that and Tahrs idea are pretty good.od sooner just pay 30 dollars and have both so long as it's that simple .

    Sent from my HUAWEI Y210-0100 using Tapatalk 2

  9. #9
    Ejected
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    HBC, NORTH of Auckland
    Posts
    5,250
    Quote Originally Posted by Neckshot View Post
    It's free to change turrets so long as you bought one new .and vx 3 cds turrets arnt wide enough to stick tape on even though that and Tahrs idea are pretty good.od sooner just pay 30 dollars and have both so long as it's that simple .

    Sent from my HUAWEI Y210-0100 using Tapatalk 2
    Oh didn't realize it was so cheap.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    North Otago
    Posts
    126
    Correct me if I'm wrong but the way I understand it with the custom CDS turret u have 2 options standard (multiple turns) & zero stop ( one turn). Still interested to know if any one has had custom wind age turret made with numbers 1-10 each way with the numbers vertical, not just a elevation turret fitted to the windage turret.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    449
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiwi Greg View Post
    With the MOA turret that comes with it, it will have the full range of adjustment, no zero stop.

    I count the moa to the top or bottom from zero & note it on a sticker in the front alumina cap as a reference if I get "lost"
    You don't recommend a zero stop then? I'll be ordering my CDS turret soon, probably after watching Norway's DVD another time. It'll be an MOA one.

    What is the deal with zero stop exactly? If I order a CDS MOA for my VX6 - it will only do a certain amount of turning before stopping so that you don't get "lost"?

    I guess what i'm asking is does a zero stop limit the amount of adjusting your scope can do?

  12. #12
    Member BRADS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Central Hawkes Bay
    Posts
    8,223

    CDS turret info

    Quote Originally Posted by MattyP View Post
    You don't recommend a zero stop then? I'll be ordering my CDS turret soon, probably after watching Norway's DVD another time. It'll be an MOA one.

    What is the deal with zero stop exactly? If I order a CDS MOA for my VX6 - it will only do a certain amount of turning before stopping so that you don't get "lost"?

    I guess what i'm asking is does a zero stop limit the amount of adjusting your scope can do?
    Zero stop will limit the amount of adjusting your cds will only go one turn mate.
    I have the vx6 scopes on my two hunting guns and the 20moa in the turn will get me two around 1000yards which is heaps you may get further or less depending on the ballistics of your gun.
    Personally I don't get hung up on the zero stop with the cds I have had heaps, dialled them lots of turns and never been lost
    But your right get moa rather than a custom range dial as your stuck with using that load on that gun.
    Hope this helps you.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Terminator Products Kiwi Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    5,492
    Quote Originally Posted by MattyP View Post
    You don't recommend a zero stop then? I'll be ordering my CDS turret soon, probably after watching Norway's DVD another time. It'll be an MOA one.

    What is the deal with zero stop exactly? If I order a CDS MOA for my VX6 - it will only do a certain amount of turning before stopping so that you don't get "lost"?

    I guess what i'm asking is does a zero stop limit the amount of adjusting your scope can do?
    As Brads said, the zero stop limits you to slightly less than one turn, not such a drama with the 20moa per turn VX6, the VX3 only has 15moa, one day you may want to shoot steel or rocks etc further than your scope will allow, this is extremely frustrating especially if you don't have a graduated reticle to hold over with.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    449
    Great, thanks heaps for that guys. Looking at my ballistics app, 20 MOA would limit me to about 750yards with my 308 (with a 200yd zero). Plenty enough for hunting, for me anyway, but I can see how that'd get annoying when wanting to shoot targets way out there.

    What are you shooting that does 1000yds with 20 MOA, Brads?

    I think you may be right about not worrying about a zero-stop too much....be pretty unlikely your scope would get bumped and do more than a full turn I imagine? And you'd be silly to leave it adjusted after going a turn and a half, etc.

  15. #15
    Member BRADS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Central Hawkes Bay
    Posts
    8,223
    Quote Originally Posted by MattyP View Post
    Great, thanks heaps for that guys. Looking at my ballistics app, 20 MOA would limit me to about 750yards with my 308 (with a 200yd zero). Plenty enough for hunting, for me anyway, but I can see how that'd get annoying when wanting to shoot targets way out there.

    What are you shooting that does 1000yds with 20 MOA, Brads?

    I think you may be right about not worrying about a zero-stop too much....be pretty unlikely your scope would get bumped and do more than a full turn I imagine? And you'd be silly to leave it adjusted after going a turn and a half, etc.
    Both my lightweight hunting guns that do that mate
    300 Terminator is around 18 moa two 1000 yards and my 7/375 is around 19 moa two 1000 yards
    Flat is good no need two dial the close stuff

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. WTB SuperSlam Turret Cover
    By Boylo in forum Buy, Sell or Swap
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27-11-2013, 02:06 PM
  2. Redding T7 turret press
    By ChrisF in forum Reloading and Ballistics
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 25-06-2013, 03:22 PM
  3. lee Turret Press
    By skeet72 in forum Buy, Sell or Swap
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23-06-2013, 10:28 PM
  4. Scope Turret Caps, what do you do?
    By Baz in forum Firearms, Optics and Accessories
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27-10-2012, 06:38 PM
  5. Lee Turret Press -> Progressive?
    By gimp in forum Reloading and Ballistics
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-12-2011, 11:17 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Welcome to NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums! We see you're new here, or arn't logged in. Create an account, and Login for full access including our FREE BUY and SELL section Register NOW!!