Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree22Likes
  • 1 Post By janleroux
  • 1 Post By DavidGunn
  • 2 Post By quentin
  • 1 Post By gonetropo
  • 12 Post By DPT
  • 1 Post By Friwi
  • 2 Post By timattalon

Thread: DIY suppressor anyone

DIY suppressor anyone

Hi all,

Have been toying around with the idea of building my own suppressor for a while (engineer by trade)
    Wondering if anyone else has had a crack at it before.

Quote Originally Posted by Danco View Post
    Hi all,

Have been toying around with the idea of building my own suppressor for a while (engineer by trade)
    Wondering if anyone else has had a crack at it before.
    I have seen some posts on the Taranaki Long Range Shooters Facebook group some posts talking about 3D printed suppressors that Keith Blackie (Palmerston North) did.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Danco likes this.
    What you see, is what you get!

An engineering mate has. He copied the suppressor baffle design of an mp5 d. Works really well but a bit heavy

Plastic 1.25 litre bottle taped to end of rifle seems to do the trick....in the movies they put a pillow over the gun.
    Danco likes this.

Gave it a go for a 22lr. 5 K baffles, and 2 threaded ends. Worked just fine, if not a bit on the heavy side.
    If I were to sell it just to cover minimum wage, it would be about $600. But there was an enormous enjoyment factor of making something that did not blow to pieces, and actually worked.
    Moa Hunter and Danco like this.

years back i made one for a marlin 45acp camp carbine. i used polymer baffles and bloody hell it was quiet !