Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: First gun

First gun

Hi
    I'm just getting into hunting. I'm after a first proper gun (deer, pigs) that will hopefully last me a good wee while. I'm not fussy about calibre at this point just want something that will knock deer and pigs over in the bush easily... I'm also a student so am on a pretty tight budget (as far under $1000 as possible), and am not fussy about being cool.. I just want something simple that does the job. I've got a couple of questions:
    -- Would you buy off trademe? The firearms people tend to advise against it but it seems like it shouldn't be more of a risk than buying anything off trademe.
    -- is an old 303 worth it? Or would you recommend just sending a little bit more and getting a newer gun?

Please feel free to push me in the right direction!

Cheers

Here's some guns from the watch list, let me know what you think if you can be bothered:
    Remington 308 model 700 | Trade Me
    Savage Axis .308 | Trade Me
    Parker Hale 270 - 4x40 Tasco Scope | Trade Me
    Zastava .308 model M70 (Serbian made) | Trade Me
    bsa monarch 270 | Trade Me
    Zavastra M70 Bolt Action 308 - Synthetic Stock | Trade Me
    chindit likes this.

Remington 308
    Carpe Diem likes this.
    I'm drawn to the mountains and the bush, it's where life is clear, where the world makes the most sense.

Caretaker
    Anything over $600 in 308
    norsk likes this.
    A big fast bullet beats a little fast bullet every time

Quote Originally Posted by 7mmsaum View Post
    Anything over $600 in 308