Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree22Likes

Thread: Mounting a scope on a 303

Mounting a scope on a 303

Hey all, newbie here

I'm wanting to chuck a scope on my ol trusty No.1 mk 3 sporter till I can afford something a little nicer and looking for some worldly wisdom

Wanting some advice for a rail solution. From what I've heard the 'no smithing' setups are just not that great, so wanting to know the best solution here; Where best to find a rail, and someone to chuck it on (If it's a complex smithing jobbie)
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Cordite and ChrisW like this.

Just swap it for my scoped no4 mk1

Sent from my SM-G935U using Tapatalk
    ChrisW and Crispyman like this.

For the cost of a rail and scope and possible gunsmith costs involved, you are better off buying a 303 rifle that's already scoped. Quite a few pop up on Trademe from time to time for a reasonable cost.

Since your SMLE isn't scoped, you might find it more financially beneficial to sell it off to someone who wants it as is for restoration.
    Crispyman likes this.

Yeah most of the mounts i see arn’t all that solid ether so you’ll probably spend more time chasing holes arround paper than you will hunting with it

I would suggest saving the 300or more you would spend
    Shoot with open sights for a bit its a good skill to have
    And at 50-100m really all you need for hunting put a shotgun clay up at 100 and when you can reliably hit that your good to go hunting
    The vitals on a deer ir goat are much bigger than that but better to be too good than not good enough