Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Terminator Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree31Likes

Thread: New to shooting remington 700 rifles

New to shooting remington 700 rifles

Hey guys, i am new to all this so i was looking for my first rifle. Now i would prefer to buy one rifle and use it for a long time. I was mostly interested in shooting at the range, not too much into hunting but got some mates who are into it so could join in if i can.
    Therefore i started looking at the Remington range to start off.
    I saw they had some entry models and the SPS tactical really caught my eye, i need recommendations tho, in term of range i saw that most of the ones around auckland do 200 -600 and clevedon does 1000 so would you go for a .308 or a .223 ?

also in term of the rifle in itself i went to a few stores and most of the stores staff mentionned that the SPS tactical stock was a really bad one, anyone have a user feedback they can share please.
    I also saw a remington 700 5R, which according to the guys at the store was based off the US Army m24 program but retooled for civilian use as they did not meet the criteria for the m24 when tested.

i know i am asking a lot, just wanting to learn as much info as possible.

thanks guys

.223 cheaper to run and easier to LEARN with as recoil is less. if you are new to shooting fullstop a .22lr will teach you a heap cheaper still and far easier to find SAFE place to practice shooting.
    when you can consistently shoot at 100 yards then think about shooting further...walk before you run..or in case of 1000yards back to back marathons carrying a 45kg pack.
    kiwi39 likes this.

ebf