Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Ruger American/Redfield or Howa lite package?

Ruger American/Redfield or Howa lite package?

Hi Guys,

I'm brand new to the site and hunting/guns. Just got my FAL and looking to get a cost effective bush/deer rifle.

So far I'm keen on the Ruger American/Redfield combo or a Howa lite barrel package. I need to have it suppressed also, got to protect the one good ear I have. Looked at the sonic suppressor today, I like.

So far I've seen the Ruger for $949 and the Howa for $999. Suppressor $350.

Which would be the best option and why? Like I said earlier, I'm new to all of this so open to all ideas/comments.....

I don't know anything about the ruger American but I own a howa light barrel 243 with the sonic suppressor . Great little hunting rifles but I have moved on to do lots of target shooting with a 260 so the howa is for sale . Comes with nikko Stirling scope 3-9 power . Trigger has been lightened have ammo and bag and sling and others for it. Been religiously cleaned and still very tidy. Fired approx 150 rounds and shoots good groups . Have brass and dies as well only after about 850 for it and have extras cheap

Howa is the better made rifle, The ruger package has a better scope. Both will shoot pretty well, the howa is probably a bit more accurate (In my experience anyway).

Whatever feels better to you man. Second hand stuff is worth a look as well. Good stuff comes up on here for awsome prices all the time.

You can also get the Savage Trophy Hunter with Weaver scope for the same price, which would be my pick of the current packages.