Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness Alpine

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree65Likes

Thread: scope suggestions for 22 mag

scope suggestions for 22 mag

Now I have the new 22 mag I need a suitable scope to fit.
    I was thinking along the lines of a 3-9x40 . That should be an ok mag range for that rifle considering some longer shots on rabbits ?
    I have seen some vortex 3-9x40 scopes on the yellow site advertised new for just over $200 .
    I have used those before and found them an ok scope but a little blurry at longer ranges on smaller objects.
    I have no experience with the base model leupolds but I am a fan of the brand.
    How would a second hand loopy in something like a freedom or vx1 or 3 compare to the vortex ?
    I cannot afford a flash scope so would be looking at something like the vortex or a second hand loopy or something along those lines....

Any suggestions...or insight in to the base (cheap) loopy scopes ?
    born to hunt - forced to work

buy 2nd hand loopy and you CANT go wrong....base model 3x9x40mm will be more than enough...hells bells thats whats been on my main firearms for last 20 years.
    9x is more than enough to shoot hare at 150 yards.
    veitnamcam, timattalon and Ftx325 like this.

Cheap vortex are like looking fhrew a cokebottle.
    Mate got a freedom for his 223 and is very impressed with it for the price.
    Id recommend a leupold any day but just make sure its not a fake if buying second hand.
    Steve123, Micky Duck and Ftx325 like this.
    "Hunting and fishing" fucking over licenced firearms owners since ages ago.

308Win One chambering to rule them all.