Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree8Likes
  • 1 Post By Pommy
  • 1 Post By keengunNic
  • 1 Post By Bill999
  • 5 Post By lau lau

Thread: Short Barrel Tikka T3 Help/Advice

Short Barrel Tikka T3 Help/Advice

Hey guys!

I’m new to the page, but love your content. I have some questions in regards to building a short barrel hunting rifle and figured I’d better ask the pros since the bushpig style rifle is common in your area (I live in Montana, USA). I have a Tikka T3 in 25-06 that will be the donor action. I’m looking to have around an 18” barrel to stay compact while running a suppressor. I ordered an MDT LSS-XL chassis with folding stock. As for caliber, I’m leaning toward 284 Win pushing a 168VLD or 175EH Berger with a 1:8.5” twist. I would like to maintain 1500ft-lbs of energy out to approx 500 yards and 1200ft-lbs energy out to 800 yards.

Before I order the barrel and reamer, I was going to see if anyone had any data on this setup or something similar and if there is any recommendations or changes I should make before I begin this process. This is my first short(ish) barrel rifle, any help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance!