Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness ZeroPak

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree91Likes

Thread: Single Shot Rifles - Blaser & Merkel

Single Shot Rifles - Blaser & Merkel

I've been toying with getting a single shot rifle for a few years but often the ones I've handled have put me off due to weight. I know this is a dangerous rabit hole to go down as it will involve some serious $$$

Baikals... too heavy although i have thought whether you could lighten them up?

Bergara.... ok but again a bit on the weight side and not in a calibre i fancy

Thompson contender... my thumb is busted so pulling back a hammer isn't ideal.

I've been fortunate to handle a Hagn... which is stunning but pricey.

Blaser K95 & Merkels K3 I've handled in Austria so I'm toying with them although the Merkel tends to take my fancy and they offer it in a calibre such as 7x57R which I like.

So... just wondering whether anyone has any experience with the Blaser and/or Merkels to share as I know one or two members have the Blasers they actively hunt with.

@Seventenths I have had a Blaser K95 6.5x65R for over 10 years
    No complaints at all
    Blaser and Merkel will both offer all the rimmed calibers and some popular un rimmed ones
    Rimmed is a good idea because of a lack of primary extraction
    But I haven't heard of anyone having problems with the rimless
    But a lot of rimmed cases have more body taper and that helps in a single shot like this
    I doubt there's really much difference between the two flavours
    Just personal taste and what's available
    Both are as strong as a modern bolt action rifle so you can load to high pressure safely