Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: spare firearms, any value in any of this stuff?

spare firearms, any value in any of this stuff?

Hi All,

This is my first post here. I'm a farmer in Hawkes Bay with enough of a pest goat problem to make E endorsement worth while. I admit I am not a firearms enthusiast as such but see them as necessary tools in my profession. Looking at the amount of stuff in the old A cat lockup most of it is either never used or just taking up space. I'd appreciate it if you all could take a look at this stuff and tell me if it has any value.

First up is the 2 .303s I have been using for goats until now. Both work great, but I'm not quick enough with these to knock down more than one goat at a time in dense plantation/bush. Once I get an E-cat I will never use these again. Both no. 4 mk 1, one stamped "US Property", the other " Long Branch 1943".

Name:  P1070419.JPGs.JPG
Views: 800
Size:  307.9 KB

Name:  P1070423.JPGs.JPG
Views: 877
Size:  241.0 KB

This old timer is I believe a Martini-Henry, it is stamped Enfield 1886 on the stock. When I was a kid in the 70's my grandmother used this to prop open the door of the chook house. I gave it some CRC and freed it up a bit to the point it could be cocked and go 'click' when the trigger is pulled. The barrel has been sawn through to prevent firing, collectors only!

Name:  P1070424.JPGs.JPG
Views: 817
Size:  446.8 KB

Name:  P1070425.JPGs.JPG
Views: 793
Size:  350.0 KB

Name:  P1070426.JPGs.JPG
Views: 805
Size:  380.1 KB