Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Alpine


User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Topo maps Invercargill

  1. #1
    Member deepsouthaussie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    1,260

    Topo maps Invercargill

    Howdy,

    Just wondering if anyone in invercargill has topo maps I can put on a micro sd for my oregeon 450 gps. Ive tried downloading the free one on the net but my brain and computer cant function properly to make shit happen, any help would be much appreciated.

    Sent from my GT-P5210 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Member Twoshotkill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    BOP
    Posts
    1,761
    I have the same GPS and have finaly found out how to do it. You can only put 2 maps on the GPS at a time or it doesn't work.

    If you keep them on your computer and just put the maps you need on the gps 2 at a time your sweet
    I have to shoot out soon so I will get back to you with a step by step guide on how to do it..
    All you need is the internet your GPS and the cord to plug your GPS into your Computer.
    The rest is Gravy (accept waiting for the Maps to download)

  3. #3
    Member Twoshotkill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    BOP
    Posts
    1,761
    Ok ...Firstly I am not a computer person.. so bear with me.
    First thing to do is down load the map you want from here

    New Zealand Topographic Map - NZ Topo Map

    To select the map, you need click on the downward arrow on the Left hand side of the page just below the printer.
    The map of NZ will then be turned into a grid of all the Linz topo maps that are available.
    Click on the map that you require (for example CG10 Invercargill)
    Then a pop up thingy will come up and give you three options ....... click on the bottom one which is the Garmin /Google earth (KMZ file)
    and save it to your computer.

    Then Plug in your GPS to the computer ....

    This is the hard bit that must be done correctly or it will not work

    On the SD card you have to make a new file called "Garmin" this must be spelled exactly the same as the folder on the GPS hard drive including starting with a capital G.. (I just cut and copied the name.)

    In the new "Garmin" folder that you have just created on the SD card you need to make a folder called "CustomMaps" ....again spelling and caps must be correct for it to work...

    You now save in the new " CustomMaps" folder the KMZ file that you got from topomaps.

    All that is left to do is turn your GPS on and go to setup / map / select map ... and there you should see custom maps-enable ..... once it is enabled you should be good to go! (may need to disable other maps)

    The 450 can only handle 2 KMZ maps at a time MAX some may have toomuch info and only allow one at a time but your GPG will tell you!

    Hope this helps ....Let me know how you get on!!!
    veitnamcam likes this.

  4. #4
    Member deepsouthaussie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    1,260
    Quote Originally Posted by Twoshotkill View Post
    Ok ...Firstly I am not a computer person.. so bear with me.
    First thing to do is down load the map you want from here

    New Zealand Topographic Map - NZ Topo Map

    To select the map, you need click on the downward arrow on the Left hand side of the page just below the printer.
    The map of NZ will then be turned into a grid of all the Linz topo maps that are available.
    Click on the map that you require (for example CG10 Invercargill)
    Then a pop up thingy will come up and give you three options ....... click on the bottom one which is the Garmin /Google earth (KMZ file)
    and save it to your computer.

    Then Plug in your GPS to the computer ....

    This is the hard bit that must be done correctly or it will not work

    On the SD card you have to make a new file called "Garmin" this must be spelled exactly the same as the folder on the GPS hard drive including starting with a capital G.. (I just cut and copied the name.)

    In the new "Garmin" folder that you have just created on the SD card you need to make a folder called "CustomMaps" ....again spelling and caps must be correct for it to work...

    You now save in the new " CustomMaps" folder the KMZ file that you got from topomaps.

    All that is left to do is turn your GPS on and go to setup / map / select map ... and there you should see custom maps-enable ..... once it is enabled you should be good to go! (may need to disable other maps)

    The 450 can only handle 2 KMZ maps at a time MAX some may have toomuch info and only allow one at a time but your GPG will tell you!

    Hope this helps ....Let me know how you get on!!!
    Sweet mate that sounds much easier then the route i was heading down.. I thought you'd just be able to have all NZ maps on your SD card and your GPS would locate where you are and use that file.. Maybe i should let Garmin know!
    puku likes this.

  5. #5
    GSP Mad Munsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    5,236
    Pm coming
    Rule 7: Avoid alcohol and drugs when handling firearms

  6. #6
    Sending it Gibo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    The Hill
    Posts
    21,049
    Quote Originally Posted by Munsey View Post
    Pm coming
    Too slow mate!!

  7. #7
    Member Twoshotkill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    BOP
    Posts
    1,761
    Garmin already know. I have fresh maps and still prefer ti put the nz topo map in fir the area im heading to.

  8. #8
    Sending it Gibo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    The Hill
    Posts
    21,049
    Quote Originally Posted by Twoshotkill View Post
    Garmin already know. I have fresh maps and still prefer ti put the nz topo map in fir the area im heading to.
    Still dont get that idea of yours mate concidering they are identical.....
    Pengy likes this.

  9. #9
    Member deepsouthaussie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    1,260
    Quote Originally Posted by Twoshotkill View Post
    Ok ...Firstly I am not a computer person.. so bear with me.
    First thing to do is down load the map you want from here

    New Zealand Topographic Map - NZ Topo Map

    To select the map, you need click on the downward arrow on the Left hand side of the page just below the printer.
    The map of NZ will then be turned into a grid of all the Linz topo maps that are available.
    Click on the map that you require (for example CG10 Invercargill)
    Then a pop up thingy will come up and give you three options ....... click on the bottom one which is the Garmin /Google earth (KMZ file)
    and save it to your computer.

    Then Plug in your GPS to the computer ....

    This is the hard bit that must be done correctly or it will not work

    On the SD card you have to make a new file called "Garmin" this must be spelled exactly the same as the folder on the GPS hard drive including starting with a capital G.. (I just cut and copied the name.)

    In the new "Garmin" folder that you have just created on the SD card you need to make a folder called "CustomMaps" ....again spelling and caps must be correct for it to work...

    You now save in the new " CustomMaps" folder the KMZ file that you got from topomaps.

    All that is left to do is turn your GPS on and go to setup / map / select map ... and there you should see custom maps-enable ..... once it is enabled you should be good to go! (may need to disable other maps)

    The 450 can only handle 2 KMZ maps at a time MAX some may have toomuch info and only allow one at a time but your GPG will tell you!

    Hope this helps ....Let me know how you get on!!!
    Sweet mate got the map on the gps. im guessing you can only access it when your in the maps boundaries is that right? i've disabled the other maps and enabled custom maps and have the map of the lake hauroko on it but cant view it yet? I've got a mate chucking all nz topo maps on an sd card too so should be set soon!

    Cheers
    Gibo likes this.

  10. #10
    Member deepsouthaussie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    1,260
    Ok im about to blow a fuse. ahah. I'm sure i did all the above correct and im looking at a blank white screen with an arrow in the middle..
    For fucks sake.

  11. #11
    Member deepsouthaussie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    1,260
    Quote Originally Posted by deepsouthaussie View Post
    Ok im about to blow a fuse. ahah. I'm sure i did all the above correct and im looking at a blank white screen with an arrow in the middle..
    For fucks sake.
    Ive bloody cracked it!!! YEEEEhhhhaaaaaaaa..

    Had to enable basemaps as well as custom maps.

    in not a complete computer tard after all..

    well still a little bit of but every knows its ok as long as you dont go FULL RETARD (tropic thunder) anyone? ahah


  12. #12
    Sending it Gibo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    The Hill
    Posts
    21,049
    Quote Originally Posted by deepsouthaussie View Post
    Ive bloody cracked it!!! YEEEEhhhhaaaaaaaa..

    Had to enable basemaps as well as custom maps.

    in not a complete computer tard after all..

    well still a little bit of but every knows its ok as long as you dont go FULL RETARD (tropic thunder) anyone? ahah

    Good shit mate! You heading out this weekend to give them a burn?

  13. #13
    Member Twoshotkill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    BOP
    Posts
    1,761
    Sorry forrgot about that. It took me a week to get the whole thing
    sused. I felt like full retard .Also if you enable fresh maps at the same time it shows huts and other details that are not on nztopo.

  14. #14
    Member deepsouthaussie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Invercargill
    Posts
    1,260
    Sweet cheers lads. Was away hunting for today and tomorrow till the wife woke up last night spewing her guts up. She went off the doc today and is in bed. Its daddy daycare now. Gotta suck it up and trade the rifle for the lux. Family first aye. Still bummed though.. :-(

    Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk
    veitnamcam likes this.

  15. #15
    Almost literate. veitnamcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    21,247
    Know the feeling bud.
    deepsouthaussie likes this.
    "Hunting and fishing" fucking over licenced firearms owners since ages ago.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Sat nav with topo
    By Pengy in forum Gear and Equipment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-11-2013, 11:41 AM
  2. FS Garmin 62s + Topo Maps and Accessories
    By P38 in forum Buy, Sell or Swap
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 13-03-2013, 05:11 PM
  3. Free software to handling topo maps?
    By phillipgr in forum Hunting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 18-09-2012, 08:45 PM
  4. Which GPS with topo maps?
    By Tikka7mm08 in forum Gear and Equipment
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 13-04-2012, 11:20 AM
  5. Garmin 60 CSX GPS with Full NZ topo Maps MINT!!
    By burtonator in forum Buy, Sell or Swap
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2012, 10:28 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Welcome to NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums! We see you're new here, or arn't logged in. Create an account, and Login for full access including our FREE BUY and SELL section Register NOW!!