Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree7Likes
  • 6 Post By Tentman
  • 1 Post By Micky Duck

Thread: Why not?

Why not?

So this morning I took the 303 fullwood no 4 with a 5c aperture sight out for some goat shooting. Ive got a ruger american in 223 to replace something but felt like a change. I'm still learning to love the ruger.
    Anyhow worked a treat and while cutting legs off for dog food I thought why doesn't someone make a rifle this good in current small and mid calibre up to say Grendel.
    What's so good about it?

Very Smooth action no bolt slop
    Short throw bolt 50 or so degrees I think
    Short stroke bolt, rear lugs mean it can be shorter by the bolt head length at least
    Cock on close
    Brilliant bolt handle, trigger geometry think "mad minute"

For a hunting, pest control rifle I would imagine it would have no equal except a satanic semi.
    Has anyone else thought the same thing.
    I have a no3 mk1 sporterised by bubba sitting here and I am now thinking of looking into how hard it would be to turn it into 7,62x39. I've got several cases of ammo that will take quite a while in my baikal to get rid of.
    Last edited by Marty Henry; 21-10-2019 at 12:50 PM. Reason: Bloody auto incorrect

Yup - I've been working on a similar project - but still in 303, just downloaded a bit, a 125gn at 2500-2600 with 30 gns of powder (I've found this amount suppresses really well). Still with a hand-guard so that the rifle is still usable after 10 quick shots. I'm waiting on a router table so I can "pattern cut" the stocks. I'm using No4 Mk 11 actions (I have 2 sporterised ones on hand).