Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree53Likes
  • 47 Post By dale
  • 1 Post By craigc
  • 2 Post By Mooseman
  • 1 Post By Danny
  • 1 Post By Mathias
  • 1 Post By Double Shot

Thread: The little 260 that could. And one week hunting tahr.

The little 260 that could. And one week hunting tahr.

Just back from from a cold but eventful week in the South Island. I’m not an expert when it comes to tahr hunting, nor have any mates that hunt them. But for me and my twin brother it’s got to be my only true passion of species to hunt. Trying to get a few mates from the north island to head down is always met with excitement but has never gone any further then dreams. While being from Wellington getting into the South Island is always a juggling match, which week is best, will the weather be kind and where to go! I try never to stick with one area but have plan a-z in place. Last week was no exception, weather had its ups and downs with snow, rain, and sunshine all rearing there faces but still managing five full days in three different areas this was going to be great.

First day was met with anticipation, would we even see anything or have we just wasted money and time for nothing. Walking up to the doc hut wondering will we be alone or sharing, not that I don’t mind sharing but having freedom is always great. That evening while climbing through the lightly snow covered tussock reaching the crest on the hill we spied a small stag and yearling spiker. Not one for eating gumboots, the yearling got death wish.
    Name:  4E349620-B65C-4F73-95C1-11D101C8556D.jpeg
Views: 946
Size:  3.90 MB