Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Sarvo Alpine


User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Garmen

  1. #1
    Almost literate. veitnamcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    21,509

    Garmen

    Will my 62s tell me barometric pressure?
    And if so how do i find it?
    "Hunting and fishing" fucking over licenced firearms owners since ages ago.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mangakino
    Posts
    661
    Down load a manual from here.https://support.garmin.com/support/m...hManuals.faces
    See page 15 of manual.
    It looks like you have to set it up so value a bit of an unknown.

  3. #3
    Member Feral's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Blenheim
    Posts
    397
    It should do. Garmin GPSMAP 62 Series - Comparison Table | Garmin GPSMAP 62 Compare

    Here is a bit of a discussion on it. Jeffrey Friedl's Blog Garmin Barometric Altimeter is, Indeed, Worthless

    Also a video showing how to access the settings https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxOAWlyCV5M

    Hope this helps mate. Haven't played with mine too much. Maybe I will now though!
    veitnamcam likes this.

  4. #4
    Member stug's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Oxford, Canterbury
    Posts
    3,822
    Yes it will do. I cant remember the exact process off the top of my head but it is not too difficult to do.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    3,497
    Elevation plotter the one that has a line graph of your elevation. Should have pressure in one of the corners

  6. #6
    Almost literate. veitnamcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    21,509
    Thanks everyone.
    Mainly want to know baro for an input into shooter. Have just been using alt and auto pressure corrected which works well to 500 odd but getting out further have noticed up to 3moa difference between my solution and Gregs with accurate pressure input.
    Gregs solution with actual pressure imputed is spot on mine with just an elevation is not.
    "Hunting and fishing" fucking over licenced firearms owners since ages ago.

  7. #7
    Gone But Not Forgotten Toby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Wouldn't you like to know
    Posts
    11,099
    Does your rangefinder do it?
    VIVA LA HOWA

  8. #8
    Member stug's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Oxford, Canterbury
    Posts
    3,822
    When you are selecting it make sure you select ambient pressure

  9. #9
    Member BRADS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Central Hawkes Bay
    Posts
    8,261

    Garmen

    Quote Originally Posted by veitnamcam View Post
    Will my 62s tell me barometric pressure?
    And if so how do i find it?
    Your phone should be able to do it for you VC, I just do it at the start of each days hunt.
    Just down load pressure from station.
    More than accurate enough for moa out two 1000 with everything I've played with.

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by BRADS; 31-03-2014 at 02:04 PM.

  10. #10
    Almost literate. veitnamcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    21,509
    Need service to get it.
    BRADS likes this.
    "Hunting and fishing" fucking over licenced firearms owners since ages ago.

  11. #11
    Member BRADS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Central Hawkes Bay
    Posts
    8,261
    Quote Originally Posted by veitnamcam View Post
    Need service to get it.
    Fair call in the north island we hunt in full 3G service, in fact all of the ruahines has better service than our house wtf.
    It must work in most places? Seen your posts with all those sweet views


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Almost literate. veitnamcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    21,509
    I get it in spots if the weather is helping and not at all other times.
    But mostly no service.
    "Hunting and fishing" fucking over licenced firearms owners since ages ago.

  13. #13
    Almost literate. veitnamcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    21,509
    Quote Originally Posted by Toby View Post
    Does your rangefinder do it?
    Na don't think it does Toby, its just a loopy 1000.
    "Hunting and fishing" fucking over licenced firearms owners since ages ago.

  14. #14
    Almost literate. veitnamcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    21,509
    Quote Originally Posted by stug View Post
    When you are selecting it make sure you select ambient pressure
    On the gps or shooter?
    "Hunting and fishing" fucking over licenced firearms owners since ages ago.

  15. #15
    Member stug's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Oxford, Canterbury
    Posts
    3,822
    On shooter under atmosphere slide across the pressure is absolute button, You will not be able to enter altitude. In the settings part of shooter select metric for the Atmosphere unit. hPa and mb are essentially the same.
    On the 62s go to the Elevation plot page, push the menu button, select "Change Data fields" push enter. Use the arrow to highlight the space you want the pressure to appear in, then push enter, then select Ambient Pressure, push enter. You are all done.
    veitnamcam likes this.

 

 

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Welcome to NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums! We see you're new here, or arn't logged in. Create an account, and Login for full access including our FREE BUY and SELL section Register NOW!!