Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

ZeroPak Alpine

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Gear Wanted

Gear Wanted

Hi all

I am new to the hunting scene and am wanting to get together some gear for hunting trips ..

BackPack (daypack, and or a bigger to suite longer periods away)
    Jackets (XL-XXL)
    Tops (XL-XXL)
    Pants(XL-XXL)
    Thermals
    Boots (size 9, 9-1/2)
    Sleeping Bag
    Cooking/eating Equipment
    Tent

Im not sure what else I need ? any suggestions welcome ,also im trying to do this on a tight budget,so secondhand gear is no problem i would welcome anybody that might have surplus gear for sale to contact me please, id be very keen to talk Turkey

Cheers
    Seano

SiB
    foil emergency blanket (bag is better) and other emergency kit inc fire lighting and light.

think about doing some day trips first before overnighters. Use huts if you're overnighting.

get a good sleeping bag. if 2nd hand probably already lost it's loft - ie heat retention ability/efficiency.

a simple sponge roll will suffice underneath.

a compass - again not a sh1t one. Dream about a GPS. always think; 'what is the worst that could happen to me?'

read some of the other threads - this has been explored elsewhere - you'll get some good ideas.

Don't buy cheap n nasty unless an experienced hunter has told you it's OK. There's some real rubbish out there. There are also some really smart bargains.

If you're hunting with a buddy, look at their kit. don't buy yours until you need it, not just want it.

buy for function - not for style. There's lot's of camo-style rubbish for the paint-ballers - let them keep it.
    Dougie and seano like this.