Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree36Likes

Thread: Summer Spearfishing

Summer Spearfishing

I've been spearfishing for the last 10 years and each summer sees me out on the water as often as possible. Usually that means weeks on end of diving multiple times per week over the Christmas holidays and basically every weekend between October and April. The last 2 years has been very different, having moved from the north of Auckland down to Palmy. I've been getting a hell of a lot more hunting but the diving itch hasn't really been scratched.

This summer holiday has been the worst on record in terms of dive days - only managing five days in the water. What it has lacked in quantity was somewhat made up for in the quality of diving and the company. I introduced SWMBO to spearfishing three years ago and she has steadily improved to the point where she is fully autonomous in the water and doesn't need her hand held (even in deep water with lots of current she is more than capable). This year she had three goals - Snapper, Kingfish and a Cray. We managed to tick off two of the three and added Boarfish to the list as well (a typically deep and hard to find fish, little known to line fishos and prized by spearos).

I will add some photos at some point and make this thread worthwhile but words are all you get for now as I smashed my phone yesterday and the bloody insurance company say there is a 10 day turn-around to get it assessed and replaced.

Are there any other spearos on here? I know of a couple but I'm sure there are more lurking around in deep dark corners...
    veitnamcam, Rich007 and stingray like this.