Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Knives Africa Terminator

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Relay for Life - fundraiser for Cancer Society

Relay for Life - fundraiser for Cancer Society

Hi all,
    Im doing the Relay for Life in Hamilton on the 30th March along with family and friends. It's my sister's idea and it's her birthday that day so I couldn't say no!
    I've been battling cancer for the last ten months. I had part of my bowel removed last May (still on a colostomy bag), then in August had my overactive thyroid removed so I could have chemo. Then came the news that there were multiple tumours in my liver. The day after being told the bad news I had a huge bleed in my throat and had emergency surgery at 1am on a Saturday morning to relieve a 4.5x9x10cm hematoma. Several rounds of chemo followed, then liver surgery in December and January with about a third of my liver removed. There were a few other speedbumps along the way, such as blood clots and potentially lethal infections.
    I'm back on chemo now, and will literally be having chemo while doing the Relay, as after 2.5 hours on a drip at hospital I get plugged into a balloon of drugs that slowly infuse over the next 48 hours via a line that goes into my arm along the vein to just above my heart.

A lot of people on the forum already donate to cancer support through the Toby shoot. I am expecting the majority of donations from Facebook and LinkedIn contacts, but thought I should post here as well because if one person donates $2 it helps the Cancer Society.

https://hamilton.everydayhero.com/nz/christopher

Thanks for reading,
    Chris
    Gibo likes this.

Have made donation mate.