Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Alpine

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Cordite
  • 1 Post By 2post
  • 1 Post By gonetropo

Thread: Replacing MR16 halogen downlights with LED alternatives

Replacing MR16 halogen downlights with LED alternatives

This is a re-examination of the same question as here from 6 years ago:
    https://www.nzhuntingandshooting.co....s-sparky-6956/

I've been deferring making a change for a few years now, waiting for improved LED technology to make its way into replacements. 2019 and I think it may be time. Here are my criteria:

- can replace just the MR16 bulbs, or at each location replace the whole fitting - existing diameter is 80mm,
    - can use the existing 12V transformers or can retire these and run direct from 230VAC,
    - 2700K - I think this is probably the best colour match for halogens but I'm prepared to stand corrected,
    - would like the replacements to deliver similar illumination to the working surfaces below, equiv intensity & angles,
    AND I would the replacements to either be sealed (if complete fittings) or permitted to run with covering insulation.

This last one is what has had me waiting for LED efficiencies to rise. Is it now possible to get equivalent illumination from a LED source for a 50W halogen that doesn't also mean significant heat loss into the roof cavity?

Would you kind forum members who have done the research and with a successful outcome please share your wisdom ?

When i replaced my downlights to led i went with bright white in key areas and softer light in bedrooms
    Konus binoculars " The power to imagine"