Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Alpine DPT


User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 53
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Handy BC reference chart

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    250

    Handy BC reference chart

    Ballistic coefficient of centerfire bullets.

    BC-Koeffizienten fr Bchsengeschosse.
    stu#71 and Shearer like this.

  2. #2
    Member kimjon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Waikato
    Posts
    1,628
    Cool, thanks for that. Quite cool having a one stop shop for BC's

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    SI
    Posts
    149
    awesome, cheers for that.
    I find it difficult to find BC's sometimes. Manufacturer's seem to concentrate on velocity and publish drop instead.
    Can anyone find Federal .243 on there?
    Last edited by stu#71; 02-01-2014 at 09:53 AM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    66
    Try JBM - Calculations - Trajectory. You might have to sign up but it is well worth it. On the Trajectory page you can click on 'links' above the BC entry which will take you to a list of bullet manufacturer websites and there are all the bullet BC's. The problem with Federal is they don't make there own bullets - not all of them anyway. Or simply select the bullet of choice from the pull down list and enter velocity and other data required and the software will generate a printable bullet drop and windage table. I don't know if this software takes into account the changing BC with change of velocity.
    stu#71 likes this.

  5. #5
    Member Beavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The Cape
    Posts
    3,866
    Doesn't work for me. Don't Federal use Speer bullets?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    449
    Yeah what's the deal with changing BC's and where would I find the info on that for a particular projectile?

    I'm wanting to order my CDS for my VX-6, but am hesitant just knowing that basic "BC" number and velocity. Even if they're slightly off then 500 on the dial might mean 550 or 450 won't it?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    646
    No they have to be quite a lot off on bc for that. With a good V0 figure, minor bc error will not be noticed.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    449
    Thanks Norway, that's reassuring. So all they need is muzzle velocity and basic BC and the CDS will be accurate to what range you reckon? Id like to be able to take long shots at hares/rabbits.

    Do you think I should shoot some paper at 200, 300, 400yds etc and send them that info? Will they even accept it since they only want those other 2 pieces of data?

  9. #9
    Almost literate. veitnamcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    20,143
    Quote Originally Posted by MattyP View Post
    Thanks Norway, that's reassuring. So all they need is muzzle velocity and basic BC and the CDS will be accurate to what range you reckon? Id like to be able to take long shots at hares/rabbits.

    Do you think I should shoot some paper at 200, 300, 400yds etc and send them that info? Will they even accept it since they only want those other 2 pieces of data?
    May i suggest you get one with just plain old moa markings. Then you are not stuck with one load at one elevation.
    BRADS likes this.
    "Hunting and fishing" fucking over licenced firearms owners since ages ago.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    449
    Yeah, a good suggestion. But then how does that work? It has 1/4 MOA already - does it just label it in terms of 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 MOA, etc, so that you don't have to count clicks? Then if you change load you just re-zero and then click it back on at 0 MOA again?

    I could always order both, only $50 each I think.

    The appeal of the yardage one is that I would only need to use rangefinder, dial, boom. Instead of rangefinder, ballistics app, dial, boom. I am really happy with the factory ammo I am using, it shoots really great.

  11. #11
    Almost literate. veitnamcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nelson
    Posts
    20,143
    Yea but its bigger than what's under the cap and is easily seen from shooting position.
    "Hunting and fishing" fucking over licenced firearms owners since ages ago.

  12. #12
    By Popular Demand gimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The Big H
    Posts
    7,874
    Work out your ballistics, get a paint marker, write "2" "3" "4" "5" on your current moa-marked turret for your ranges, and you can fudge the distances between them pretty easily

  13. #13
    By Popular Demand gimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The Big H
    Posts
    7,874
    oh wait, do you have decently usable turrets currently or the really shitty ones that came on VX3 where you can't really reset them properly? I haven't played with a VX6

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    449
    Quote Originally Posted by gimp View Post
    oh wait, do you have decently usable turrets currently or the really shitty ones that came on VX3 where you can't really reset them properly? I haven't played with a VX6
    Well, it's hard for me to tell really, having never used "good turrets." I've seen a few people complaining about VX-6's that don't click. Well, these do click, but you feel it more than hear it. I saw someone say that if you wind them up or down about 50 times then they feel much better, can't remember who.

    As for if they reset properly, how do you mean? As in, dial up 10 clicks, then back down 10 clicks and see if you're still zero'd?

    I haven't really tried that as I haven't been dialing - i've just being zeroing for 200yds and using the holdovers on my reticle. Which, according to Strelok, line up perfectly at 300, 400, 450, 500 yards at 15x zoom for my load. And I am happy using those holdovers. But, I have the opportunity next R&R for some very long range hare shooting. So for anything over 500 I am going to have to dial if I still want decent zoom. Hence all the questions .

    Edit - many apologies for completely hijacking this thread.

  15. #15
    By Popular Demand gimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    The Big H
    Posts
    7,874
    Take a pic of the turrets? I mean reset as in, able to set them to a zero mark that is clearly visible and that doesn't move. The VX3 turrets have a stupid little ring that you rotate to set the zero mark, but it's non-locking and moves and is poorly marked.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Drop chart subsonic 22
    By Bill999 in forum Varminting and Small Game Hunting
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 16-08-2015, 04:21 PM
  2. handy cam tripods ?
    By Neckshot in forum Photography and Video
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22-09-2012, 10:14 PM
  3. drop chart via JBM Ballistics - experience?
    By Speill in forum Reloading and Ballistics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-08-2012, 10:59 AM
  4. My Dumb Q - Making a drop chart
    By Barefoot in forum Reloading and Ballistics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23-05-2012, 06:21 PM
  5. Handy Website
    By Steve338 in forum Off topic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13-01-2012, 11:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Welcome to NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums! We see you're new here, or arn't logged in. Create an account, and Login for full access including our FREE BUY and SELL section Register NOW!!