Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT 


User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
Like Tree35Likes

Thread: range noise complaint

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Location
    Nz
    Posts
    195

    range noise complaint

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/taranaki-dai...uel-over-noise

    Amazing. He knew that the range was there when he brought the place. I'm so sick of this shit. Next thing the range will be closed down due to one whinger!!

  2. #2
    Member 40mm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Lurking in the bushes
    Posts
    5,666
    Karen is gender indecisive.
    timattalon, piwakawaka and Cordite like this.
    Use enough gun

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Taranaki
    Posts
    485
    As a local, non club member and shooter. I see both arguments.
    The property is reasonably close. Only about 200 250m.

    The key being he had lived there for 2 years with no complaints. He was obviously happy with the noise levels when he brought the property. It was once a neighbouring property removed their trees that acted as a sound barrier. So it's not the clubs doing nor is it him “being a karen"

    The club is acting within its resource consent as far as I'm wear with noise levels. So it's not their fault. It will be frustrating for both parties.

    Nothing stopping him from planting trees / creating some form of noise barrier. But that will take time obviously.

    Problem being is if the council do something about it it sets a precedent for other clubs, businesses etc.


    Much more acceptable than the firearms business owner who moved next to a gun club then organised the neighbours to complain.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Taranaki
    Posts
    485
    Update. I missed the sound engineer said the pines wouldn't of done much for noise suppression when i have heard of them being used as sound barriers in the past. But there would be much better alternatives.
    I wonder if over time he has become sensitive to the noise. And using the trees as an excuse to complain.

    I have shot there a couple of times and they are very strict about no shooting until 9am.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Hawkes Bay
    Posts
    1,770
    That muppet is following the lead of a lawyer that bought a house just over the hill from Trentham, the national range in Upper Hutt that's been there since Adam was a cowboy. Rightly, his noise complaints got nowhere.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Bay of plenty
    Posts
    384
    Is he a school teacher or a polytechnic tutor? I can’t work out which.

    Trees offer very little if any in the way of noise mitigation
    It’s all in the head that if you can’t see it you can’t hear it….

  7. #7
    Member Happy Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Hurunui
    Posts
    1,778
    Happened up in Nelson too I think
    Pengy likes this.

  8. #8
    Member Pengy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Up in da hills somewhere near Nelson
    Posts
    9,365
    Quote Originally Posted by Happy Jack View Post
    Happened up in Nelson too I think
    Indeed it did.
    But in my humble opinion, the range owner in that case had the last laugh
    Forgotmaboltagain+1

  9. #9
    Member Happy Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Hurunui
    Posts
    1,778
    Quote Originally Posted by Pengy View Post
    Indeed it did.
    But in my humble opinion, the range owner in that case had the last laugh
    Yes did hear about that

  10. #10
    BSA
    BSA is offline
    BSA BSA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Western Coast
    Posts
    176
    The precedent for this sort of behaviour was set in the Courts years ago with the Rod & Gun Club in Palmerston North.
    BSA270 likes this.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Southern Alps
    Posts
    2,000
    I thort as you got older you got deafer,ah,what i cant hear you,you said something,bugger i missed that.

  12. #12
    Member Steve123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Rotorua
    Posts
    3,370
    Is it a case of buy cheap because of the shooting club/speedway next door and then whine so your property value skyrockets when the club gets shut down?
    What was the precedent set in Palmy?
    madmaori and outlander like this.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Southern Alps
    Posts
    2,000
    They miss all their close neighbors and go back.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Jafa land
    Posts
    5,026
    I wish I lived 250 m from the range.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    New Plymouth
    Posts
    1,739
    I live not far in a straight line from that range and i have been a member as well and i have never heard shots fired that early.
    As the rules state no shooting before 9am, there is a very good duck shooting river that runs about 200m from his house and that myself and others hunt and I've been woken up myself by shot guns going off.
    I can't see how the trees ever blocked any noise as most were on the south boundary and his house is on the east boundary.
    Just another winger.

    Sent from my CPH2145 using Tapatalk
    Nugget connaisseur likes this.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-09-2018, 09:29 PM
  2. Barking Complaint
    By R93 in forum Hunting Dogs
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 27-09-2017, 05:37 AM
  3. Update: Complaint From Neighbour
    By Beetroot in forum Hunting
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 29-10-2014, 07:11 AM
  4. Complaint from neigbour
    By Beetroot in forum Hunting
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 11-03-2014, 08:11 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Welcome to NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums! We see you're new here, or arn't logged in. Create an account, and Login for full access including our FREE BUY and SELL section Register NOW!!