Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Darkness DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Worth joining club to use range?

Worth joining club to use range?

Hey guys, I am new to shooting and was going to sight it in my rifles at the local range with a friend before heading out to do any hunting. Was wondering if you think it would be better to join the club here in Masterton to practice a bit more often? How often would you use a range? Thanks

Hi mate, yes if you are relatively new, it might pay. As members generally pay less for the range fees and the NZDA clubs also run a hunter training course.
    Which teaches bush, hunting and firearms handling skills.
    The more confident you are by practising the better. Do this by practising standing, sitting and lying down with the rifle, not just from the bench, as I've never had a bench and seat to use when shooting deer in the bush.
    steven likes this.
    Welcome to Sako club.

I've just joined a range after only having my FL for 18 months and think it's well worth it... You'll get to meet more people who like you are into shooting and hunting etc and in my experience are generally very helpful to beginners. And as mentioned above you can spend more time behind your rifle to build confidence in your ability to shoot accurately, and get access to those hunts courses.. Not to mention it's fun being able to have somewhere safe to go and smash some targets
    Kiwi Greg, Maca49, steven and 1 others like this.