Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Delta DPT

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Rushy

Thread: Hi new to hunting so have some questions

Hi new to hunting so have some questions

Hi people

im new to this hunting thing and live in chch, im looking for first rifle and have been into all local shops and have weeded out the good advice from the bad, so far im pretty set on a tikka t3 lite s/s, (i have looked at other brands but like the tikka) now next question is calibre, the 2 i have decided on are either a .270 or a 7mm08, would i be correct in saying these guns are very similar? i.e ones metric the others imperial?

next question is if i wanted to buy second hand with one of these guns what is considered low kms(im a car guy) for barrel? i.e 40 rounds,150round ect?
    next is i assume you need to get a police order form to courier a gun? can ammo also be sent? who does this sort of freight? i.e do i just ring my local nz couiers?

thanks in advance

cheers Ben

Welcome to the forum uwish.

Lots of good advise on here from experienced hunters/shooters.

270 and 7mm08 are different.
    Both are in the 7mm class of calibres though and either are a good rifle.
    Have a look on wikipeadia for details etc.

There are a few good 2nd hand deals around at the moment. It's worth getting a good 2nd hand rifle and a real good scope rather than a new rifle and crappy scope like the stores put in those deals.
    Keep an eye out on TM

Barrel life out of either a 7mm08 or a 270 will be in the thousands. Shouldn't have any worry getting a 2nd hand rifle that has popped out a few rounds.