Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the NZ Hunting and Shooting Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

DPT Darkness

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Hi there, new member

Hi there, new member

Hi all,
    new here, from wellington.
    Im just going through the process of getting my FAL, and have joined the forum to get info etc, as i am new to guns and shooting.
    I am familiar with forums and clubs, as i have been heavily into the american classic car/hotrod scene for last 13 years or so, but looking for something different.
    I have always had an interest in firearms and milataria, but have never owned a gun. I am thinking of doing service rifle shooting once i have my "A" FAL. I am not too interested in hunting, so i thought service rifle may be more me, as i like old stuff, and military stuff. I also enjoy plinking in my back yard with a air rifle i have.
    Is anyone here involved with the WSRA? are they a good bunch?
    Have read the website and it says an old .303 and a newer a cat semi like m14 or sks are a good starting point. Can anyone point me to good retailers that carry these types. Not wanting to spend heaps starting out, just want to see if i enjoy it.

Thanks in advance
    steven likes this.

Nor West of Auckland on the true right of the Kaipara River
    Welcome Snake.
    Snake likes this.
    It takes 43 muscle's to frown and 17 to smile, but only 3 for proper trigger pull.
    What more do we need? If we are above ground and breathing the rest is up to us!
    Rule 1: Treat every firearm as loaded
    Rule 2: Always point firearms in a safe direction
    Rule 3: Load a firearm only when ready to fire
    Rule 4: Identify your target beyond all doubt
    Rule 5: Check your firing zone